League basics

Final tables
2012–13 season
2011–12 season
2010–11 season
2009–10 season
2008–9 season
2007–8 season
2006–7 season
2005–6 season
2004–5 season
2003–4 season
2002–3 season

Divisions 1–3
Divisions 4–6
Pittaway Cup
Humphreys Cup
Rock Cup
Bidgood Cup
League Formation
Clubs involved

Historic notes from the Rock Cup tournament

An individual knockout tournament - for first round winners (see Bidgood Cup)

Introduction of the Rock Cup tournament.

At the time of its introduction, the WDCL minutes record "Mr Bladen proposed and My Joynson seconded that an individual championship be organised this season, on knock-out lines.  Mr Rock said that he would provide a trophy."

8th September, 1949.

Past Winners.

Winner Runner up
2011-12 R Marshall (Wolverhampton)
2010-11 D Scriven (Walsall Kipping) &
D Wightman (Wolverhampton) joint
2009-10 M Groombridge (Walsall Kipping)
2008-09 D Anderton (Walsall Kipping)
2007-08 L Collier (St George's) &
P Leary (Rushall) joint
2006-07 L Collier (St George's) &
S Wilson (Boldmere) joint
2005-06 L Collier (Birmingham S) P Staley (Bushbury)
2004-05 L Collier (Birmingham S)
2003-04 R Westwood (Rushall) L Collier (Lucas)
2002-03 C Wilcox (Rushall) R Westwood (St Mary's)
2001-02 L Collier (Lucas) W Hulley (Rugeley)
2000-01 W Hulley (Rugeley) L Collier (Lucas)
1990-00 L. Collier (Lucas & B.S) M. Wooton (Wolverhampton)
1998-99 L. Collier (Lucas & B.S) M. Groombridge (Walsall Kipping)
1997-98 L. Collier (Lucas & B.S) A. Powis (Rushall)
1996-97 A. Powis (Rushall) S. Wilcox (Rushall)
1995-96 L. Collier (Lucas & B.S) Martin May (Goodyear)
1994-95 L. Grinsell (Bushbury) C. Hibbard (Lichfield)
1993-94 W. Hulley (Rugeley) M. Groombridge (Walsall Kipping)
1992-93 C. Hibbard (Lichfield) Martin May (Goodyear)
1991-92 L. Grinsell (Bushbury) K. Thompson (Lichfield)
1990-91 M. Groombridge (Walsall Kipping) W. Withnall (Walsall Kipping)
1989-90 L. Grinsell (Bushbury) J. Edge (Dudley)
1988-89 K.A.J. Francis (Mercia) L. Grinsell (Bushbury)
1987-88 R. Marshall (Wolverhampton) J. Edge (Dudley)
1986-87 P. Porter (Wolverhampton) M. Hoare (Lichfield)
1985-86 G. Buckley (Bushbury) R.G. Jones (Walsall Kipping)
1984-85 M. Sampson (Dudley) G. Buckley (Bushbury)
1983-84 L. Cooper (Stafford) M. Griffiths (Wolverhampton)
1982-83 G.M. Wellings (J Thompson) A.P. McCumiskey (Mercia)
1981-82 M. Sampson (Dudley) C.P. Hibbard (Lichfield)
1980-81 M. Wheeler (Burntwood) D.A. Burgoyne (Cannock)
1979-80 A. Schroeder (Goodyear) G.M. Wellings (J Thompson)
1978-79 G.M. Wellings (J Thompson) S. Chahal (Goodyear)
1977-78 J. Keene (Springvale) G.M. Wellings (J Thompson)
1976-77 N. Jones V.A. Jones
1975-76 A. Sadler (Wolverhampton Kipping) G. Thomas
1974-75 A. Sadler (Wolverhampton Kipping) W.N. Clayton (Walsall Kipping)
1973-74 A. Sadler (Wolverhampton Kipping) D.G. Edwards (Wolverhampton Kipping)
1972-73 A. Sadler (Wolverhampton Kipping) L. Hesbrook (Wolverhampton)
1971-72 A. Sadler (Wolverhampton Kipping) D.G. Edwards (Wolverhampton Kipping)
1970-71 A.C. Evans (G.K.N.) S. Chahal (Wolverhampton)
1969-70 P.G. Jackson (Stafford) K. Pittaway (J Thompson)
1968-69 R.F. Walker Mr Blead
1967-68 P. Staley (Bushbury) A. Schroeder (Wolverhampton)
1966-67 J.E. Jones (Wolverhampton Kipping) J.D. Hughes (Bushbury)
1965-66 M.A. Stephenson (Wolverhampton Kipping) NA
1964-65 M.A. Stephenson (Wolverhampton Kipping) A. Sadler (Wolverhampton Kipping)
1963-64 M.A. Stephenson (Wolverhampton Kipping) P. Porter (Hobsons)
1962-63 A. Schroeder (Wolverhampton) NA
1961-62 D.W. Anderton (Wolverhampton Kipping) NA
1960-61 M.A. Stephenson (Wolverhampton Kipping) NA
1959-60 D.W. Anderton (Wolverhampton Kipping) M.A. Stevenson (Wolverhampton Kipping)
1958-59 D.W. Anderton (Wolverhampton Kipping) V.G. Jenson (Wolverhampton Kipping)
1957-58 V.G. Jenson (Wolverhampton Kipping) J. Fellows (Wolverhampton)
1956-57 J.M. Davies (Walsall Kipping) A. Schroeder (Goodyear)
1955-56 V.G. Jenson (Wolverhampton Kipping) H. Rawluck (Ukranians)
1954-55 R.E. Duncanson (Bayliss J & B) R. Joynson (J Thompson ?)
1953-54 A. Schroeder (Goodyear) H.F. Joynson (J Thompson)
1952-53 G.I. Carver NA
1951-52 W. Seniuta (Goodyear) A. Dodd (Wolverhampton Kipping)
1950-51 H.F. Joynson (J Thompson) R.F. Duncanson (Bayliss J & B)
1949-50 J.H. Baines (Walsall Kipping)
Winner Runner up

Chess logo

If you have any comments or queries about this archive website, contact



Top of Page