League basics

Final tables
2012–13 season
2011–12 season
2010–11 season
2009–10 season
2008–9 season
2007–8 season
2006–7 season
2005–6 season
2004–5 season
2003–4 season
2002–3 season

Divisions 1–3
Divisions 4–6
Pittaway Cup
Humphreys Cup
Rock Cup
Bidgood Cup
League Formation
Clubs involved

Historic notes from the Bidgood Trophy tournament

An individual knockout tournament - for first round losers (see Rock Cup)

Introduction of the Bidgood Trophy.

At the time of its introduction, the WDCL minutes record "Mr B. Smith proposed that a Secondary Cup should be played for, to stimulate interest for competitors knocked out in the early rounds."

21st August, 1962.

Followed nine months later by the following "Subsidiary Cup.  It was decided to name the trophy the Harold Bidgood Trophy,"

21st May, 1963.

Past Winners.

Winner Runner up
2011-12 G Sands (Wolverhampton)
2010-11 M Groombridge (Walsall Kipping)
2009-10 S Harris (Stafford)
2008-09 M Carr (Rushall)
2007-08 S Harris (Stafford) M Groombridge (Walsall Kipping)
2006-07 A Leadbetter (Stafford) J Llewellyn (Halesowen)
2005-06 S Heath (Rugeley) R Mitchell (Boldmere)
2004-05 G Rosser (Wolverhampton)
2003-04 R Lewis (Rushall) P Nixon (Walsall)
2002-03 C Pohrybnyj (Walsall Kipping) K Jones
2001-02 D Carter (Stafford) C Wilcox (Rushall)
2000-01 R Westwood (St Mary's) K Moore (Walsall Kipping)
1990-00 K.A.J. Francis (Mercia) W. Hulley (Rugeley)
1998-99 B. Lewis (Wolverhampton) P. Allan (Brewood)
1997-98 J. Button (Connaught) NA
1996-97 J. Button (Newhampton) NA
1995-96 S. Beasley (Bushbury) M. Robertson (Rushall)
1994-95 Martin May (Goodyear) B. Hall (Brewood)
1993-94 R. Gogerty (Stafford) A. Colabella (Goodyear)
1992-93 D. Buckley (Bushbury) W. Withnall (Walsall Kipping)
1991-92 A. Turner (Penkridge)
& R. Grainger (Penkridge)
1990-91 L.G. Hesbrook (Wolverhampton) D. Buckley (Bushbury)
1989-90 J.G.T. Sadler (Rushall) D. Lambe (Rushall)
1988-89 Martin May (Goodyear) NA
1987-88 M. Sanderson (Mercia) P.J. Jones (West Midland Police)
1986-87 L. Grinsell (Bushbury) P. Hadley (Bushbury)
1985-86 G. Thurman (Wolverhampton) M. Hoare (Lichfield)
1984-85 A. Lee (Dudley) P. Eastwood (Wolverhampton)
1983-84 R.C. Evans (Wolverhampton) A. Tipton (Brewood)
1982-83 M. Waldron (Union Locks) P. Blunt (Goodyear)
1981-82 A. Schroeder (Goodyear) Mrs J. Briscoe (J Thompson)
1980-81 A.P. McCumiskey (Mercia) M. Quinn (Union Locks)
1979-80 G. Edwards F. Lloyd
1978-79 A.B.C. Smith (Cannock) D. Moir (Cannock)
1977-78 S. Jukes (Dudley) F. Savage (J Thompson)
1976-77 J. Keene (Springvale) G. Oglesby
1975-76 C.A. Jones B.R. Smith (Mercia)
1974-75 G. Hicks F. Tatler (Stourbridge)
1973-74 B.V. Hammond (G.K.N.) T. McFarlane (Walsall Kipping)
1972-73 K.A.J. Francis (Mercia) P.G. Jackson (Stafford)
1971-72 R. Colston (Dudley) K.A.J. Francis (Mercia)
1970-71 R.G. Jones (Walsall Kipping) Mrs M. Lloyd
1969-70 W.E. Cox (Dudley) J. Wyer
1968-69 D.G. Edwards (Wolverhampton Kipping) Mr Lloyd
1967-68 G. Link (Wolverhampton Kipping) K. Phillips (Hobsons)
1966-67 L. Armstrong (Bushbury) K. Pittaway (J Thompson)
1965-66 B. Lote (Stewart & Lloyds) NA
1964-65 A.V. Kent (Dudley) J. Bargery (Wolverhampton Kipping)
1963-64 M. Bacon (Stewart & Lloyds) A. Dodd (Wolverhampton Kipping)
1962-63 P. Porter (Hobsons) NA
Winner Runner up

Chess logo

If you have any comments or queries about this archive website, contact



Top of Page