League basics

Final tables
2012–13 season
2011–12 season
2010–11 season
2009–10 season
2008–9 season
2007–8 season
2006–7 season
2005–6 season
2004–5 season
2003–4 season
2002–3 season

Div 1–3 winners
Div 4–6 winners
Rapidplay league
Open Cup
Major Cup
Intermediate Cup
Minor Cup
Div 1–3 runner-up
Div 4–6 runner up

Margaret Hankey League
Final tables 2003/4
League winners

Historic notes from the Open cup

A knockout tournament for teams of 8 players
There is no grading limit.

The Open Cup.

Up until summer 2009, this was know as the 8 man cup.  With the revision of ECF grading limits in 2009, the competition was renamed to the Open Cup.

Past Winners.

Winner Runner up
2011-12 Holmes Chapel Cheddleton
2010-11 Cheddleton Stafford
2009-10 Holmes Chapel Cheddleton
2008-09 Cheddleton Fenton
2007-08 Cheddleton Newcastle
2006-07 Cheddleton Newcastle
2005-06 Cheddleton
(on board count)
Holmes Chapel
2004-05 Cheddleton Newcastle
2003-04 Cheddleton
2002-03 Stafford Cheddleton
2001-02 Cheddleton Holmes Chapel
2000-01 Cheddleton Stafford
1990-00 Newcastle v RHHC
1998-99 Cheddleton Newcastle
1997-98 Cheddleton Trentham
1996-97 NA NA
1995-96 Newcastle
(on board count)
1994-95 Stafford Newcastle
1993-94 NA NA
1992-93 Holmes Chapel NA
1991-92 Stafford Newcastle
1990-91 NA NA
1989-90 Holmes Chapel Kidsgrove
1988-89 Cheddleton
(on board count)
1987-88 Cheddleton Stafford

Chess logo

If you have any comments or queries about this archive website, contact



Top of Page