League basics

Final tables
2012–13 season
2011–12 season
2010–11 season
2009–10 season
2008–9 season
2007–8 season
2006–7 season
2005–6 season
2004–5 season
2003–4 season
1999–00 season

Divisions 1–3
League Formation
Clubs involved

2006–7 details
League tables
Results summary
Division 1 results
Division 2 results
Division 3 results

2005–6 details
League tables
Division 1 results
Division 2 results
Division 3 results

Cannock League Formation

Formation of the League

The minutes of the inaugural meeting record:

"Minutes of inaugural A.G.M. held on Wed 14 April 1999.

PRESENT:- Ray Dolan (St Mary's), Robin Lewis (St Mary's), Lee Greaves (St Mary's), Brian Lynam (St Mary's), Bob Mayne (St Mary's), John Montague (Rugeley), Pete Collins (Lichfield), Robert Ward (Wolverhampton), Steve Wilcox (Rushall).

Mr Ray Dolan Chaired the meeting with Mr Bob Mayne as acting Secretary.  The chair at 7.35 pm opened the meeting.

League Constitution
The draft constitution as prepared by Bob Mayne was discussed and amended in detail.  The final form of the constitution was accepted unanimously by all present. ..."

The First Season (1999-2000)

At the start of its first season, an individual lightning tournament was held in Cannock.  Fourteen players took part, and a good time was had by all.

The result of the lightning tournament was:
Joint 1st: K Hadley and A Leadbetter.  They both scored 5 out of 6.

Final League positions

At the end of the first season, the final tables were recorded as shown below.

Division 1
Position Pts
Lichfield 1 15
Rushall 2 13
Rugeley 3 7
St Mary's 4 0

Division 2
Position Pts
Rugeley 1 26
Rushall 2 23
Tamworth 3 22
St Mary's 4 21
Brewood 5 13
Wolverhampton 6 8
Bushbury 7 3

Chess logo

If you have any comments or queries about this archive website, contact



Top of Page