Leek Rapidplay Congress 2009

Held at
St. Edward’s Junior High School, Leek

6th Leek Rapidplay Congress - Played Sunday 7 June, 2009

Report by Robert Milner (Controller).

The overall entry was again disappointing (59), which makes it difficult to ensure that the Congress will continue another year.  Having just completed the accounts, I can say that, as we broke even, it will, all other considerations being well.  It was a great success, particularly in view of the unprecedented number of junior players taking part (19).  An event in the North West kept our regular batch of entries from the Greater Manchester area down to a minimum and there was a disappointing number of entries from the Stoke League.  In both tournaments, the competition was close with nothing decided until the very end.

The winner of the Major Competition was the top seed, Oliver Jackson of Poynton with Richard Beach of Stockport, David Buxton of Cheddleton and Alex Richardson of Newcastle being equal second.  Craig Whitfield of Cheddleton won the grading prize.  The Alan J Wilshaw Memorial Rose bowl for the highest placed Stoke League player was shared for the first time between David Buxton and Alex Richardson.

The winner of the Minor Competition was Geoff Laurence of Macclesfield with Richard Burton of Colwyn Bay and Steve Hill of Meir sharing second place.  The grading prize went to Richard Szwajkun of Newport.


Cheddleton section (U190)

1 Oliver Jackson Cheshire 7
2 Richard Beach Stockport 6
2 David Buxton Cheddleton 6
2 Alex Richardson Newcastle 6
5 Malcolm Armstrong Stafford
5 Glyn Morris Urmston
5 Craig Whitfield Cheddleton
8 David Pritchard Walsall Kipping 5
9 Alan Agnew Warley Quinborne
9 Simon Edwards Cheddleton
9 Peter Mercs Nottingham Gambit
12 Simon Crowley Cheddleton 4
13 David Welch Wallasey
14 Golam Ali West Bromwich
15 William Armstrong Cheddleton

St Edward's section (U130)

1 Geoffrey Laurence Macclesfield 8
2 Richard Burton Colwyn Bay 7
2 Stephen Hill Meir 7
4 Stephen Lloyd Chester
5 Peter Broomhall Rushall 6
5 Neil Dimmick Cheddleton 6
5 Athar Mehmood Newport 6
5 Leo Tsoi Boldmere St Michael 6
9 Philip Bull West Bromwich
9 Alex Cartlidge Cheddleton
9 Moin Uddin West Bromwich
12 Colin Abell Cheddleton 5
12 David Broadbent East Cheshire 5
12 Richard Szwajkun Newport 5
12 Karl Walklate Fenton 5
16 Richard Cantliff Fenton
16 Liam Dimmick Cheddleton
16 David Hallen Cheddleton
16 Derrick Jones Newcastle
16 Thomas Morris Urmston
16 Wendell Rawlings Warley Quinborne
16 Peter Tideswell Fenton
16 Matthew Wyza Cheddleton
24 David Buckley Bushbury 4
24 Paul Clapham Newcastle 4
24 William Foster Cheddleton 4
24 Jack Healings Cheddleton 4
24 Mark Kirtley Nottingham Gambit 4
24 Anna O’Leary North Staffs 4
30 Jacob Cartlidge Cheddleton
30 Ashwin Kalyana Solihull
32 Ali Arshad Cheddleton 3
32 Ebrahim Arshad Cheddleton 3
32 George Hamilton Cheddleton 3
32 James Nicol Cheddleton 3
32 Stephen Szwajkun Newport 3
32 Skye Wiggins North Staffs 3
38 Jacob Boswell North Staffs 2
39 Surya Sridharan North Staffs 1

Chess logo

If you have any comments or queries about this archive website, contact



Top of Page