When is a draw not a draw? (part 1)
BOARD COUNT and the ELIMINATION METHOD
to resolve draws in
team knockout tournaments.
In league matches, the result can be either a win, draw or loss, depending on the final points total for each team.
But in a team knockout tournament only the winning team can go through to the next round.
What happens if a match finishes with the scores level?
Among the rules in team knockout tournaments, you will usually find one saying
"In the event of a drawn match, the result will be decided by the ‘Board count’ method.
If that fails to produce a winner, then the ‘Elimination rule’ is used until the tie is broken.".
But what are ‘Board count’ and the ‘Elimination rule’, and how do they work? This page shows an example of using board count, and an explanation of how it works.
Part 2 of this guide follows on from that, and takes a similar look at the elimination rule.
If you just want a quick guide of how to use them both, take a look at the summary in the right hand column.
To illustrate board count and board elimination, let's take a look at a couple of results from a ficticious tournament
The Local Knockout, Semi-final.
Adding up the points score for each game, gives a 3 - 3 draw.
But only one team can go through to the final, so we need a winner:
According to the tournament rules, we should start with ‘board count’.
With board count, you note down which boards each team won on, and add up those numbers for each team.
The team with the lowest total is the winner.
Looking at the results,
Gifford's Cross won on boards 1 and 6, so their board count is: 1 + 6 = 7
Little Marston won on boards 3 and 5, so their board count is: 3 + 5 = 8
The team with the lower total is deemed to be the winner.
In the example, Gifford's Cross have the lower board count so would go through to the next round.
As board count alone has produced a winning team, there is no need to use the elimination rule.
Part 2 of this guide shows how the elimination rule works (and illustrates board count again) .